Kinds of tea: Did you know that…

  • the basic types of tea: white, green, black and Oolong come from the shoots of the plant Camelia Synensis.
  • the fermentation process is the factor that differentiates the types.
  • white tea is the less processed (unfermented.) So it retains most of the plant catechins which are very beneficial to the health of our cells. It also has the lowest caffeine content.
  • green tea is also unfermented. Due to the short processing, retains the antioxidant properties of the plant.
  • the Oolong tea is more processed than green and less than black (partially fermented).
  • the black tea is fully fermented. That is why it contains less antioxidants and more caffeine than the other three.
  • red tea on the other hand, comes from a plant of South Africa, the Rooibos. It is rich in antioxidants and does not contain any caffeine.
  • mountain tea (Sideritis) grows mainly in the mountains of the Mediterranean countries. It is known since the ancient times as it is mentioned by the ancient Greek Dioscorides and Theophrastus. It has anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties.

..more of “Did you know that” soon!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s